Nightmare

As a photographer I have heard many nightmare stories about losing photos in the digital age, of course there were nightmares with film, but that is another story. You know losing the card, card corrupting etc. I had never had that problem, being very particular about backing up. That is until…

I was asked to do some promo photos for a club. It is way over in Newton, Ms. about 160 miles from me. I packed the camera, spare batteries, flash card case(remember this) My Acer netbook (this too), flashes, stands and plenty of batteries.

The drive over was uneventful but upon arrival I readied my equipment only to discover there was only one 1 GB card. I knew there would be more photos than that comsidering the size of the 5D files. But no problem I had my trusty netbook, card reader and…oh no charger and the battery is dead. Now it is time to panic.

I was just about to drive the 50 miles to Meridian, Ms for another cord when I noticed the host had a laptop he ran the music with. I asked if he had some blank CD’s and could burn files. he said  NO PROBLEM. I used my card reader and we downloaded the first set. He burnt, verified(so I thought) and gave me the disc, now being the savvy computer person I am I should have realized a 1GB card would not fit on a CD. Anyway I wiped the card and proceeded to shoot it full agian. He burnt the 2nd set and once again gave me the CD. I formatted the card and was ready again. The party was in full swing and the owner decided we had enough photos. I packed mt gear and when I got home, popped the first CD in…NOTHING. Put in the 2nd CD…nothing. Now it was panic time.

I called the owner and her verified that the temp files were still on the laptop so I told him to burn to a DVD and mail it to me.

I gave him the mailing address and waited, and waited, one week, no CD. He confirmed he mailed it. I checked the mailing address and you guessed, I gave him the wrong zip code. I contact him and he said he would send another copy.

Which brings me to the reason for this post. I used a photo recovery software called Photorescue. It is cheap, easy to navigate and found 126 useable photos. I highly recommend this software. I had even formatted the card. as long as it is not overwritten it will find the images. They have a free trial that you can use, to preview saveable images, to use before purchasing.

If you ever need to save those one of photos give this software a try

Leave a Reply

