Unpleasant visit

Today I have to visit my cousin, Peggy. Now, don’t get me wrong normally it would be a pleasant visit, as she and her sister Jenny are my favorite cousins.

The problem is Peggy has been fighting cancer, off and on, for a  years. This week they sent her home with pain meds to await the inevitable.

Now, I must take my two sisters down to see her. I don’t know if she will be lucid but what do you say to the Family? Just a year ago last Sept. I watched my brother-in-law gasp for breath in his last minutes of fighting lung cancer. I watched my dad suffer through chronic emphysema.

I hope the pain and suffering ends soon. I know she is ready to go home, to Heaven. It will be hardest on her husband. They were HS sweethearts and have been married since getting out of school and her two daughters. I wish and pray the best for them

Leave a Reply

