Back yard bird blind

I have been promising to show some photos of my blind and feeder set up.

The blind is made from two sweet potato packing crates, one on top of the other. with a door in the back(covered with an old shower curtain) windows in the front and sides and a little roll around stool.

This is the east side facing west. It is only 12 feet from the blind to the perches. That is the minimum focus distance for the Sigma 400 f5.6 lens.Here you can see the feeders from the blind. I have three types of feeders to accommodate different types of birds. The white PVC pipe holds my perch limb and allows me to change them out. The tripod holds a piece of tree limb with a hole in it. The whole is filled with seed when I am shooting.Here is a view from the blind to the north. I placed the blind facing north so the winter sun would be behind it and illuminate the birds on the feeder.Here is from the west, facing east, you can see the small wood lot and my bluebird box next to the trees. I am going to put up a platform feeder for meal worms and a string feeder to hold fruit for the orioles. I am also thinking of making a frame to hold a background behind the feeders.

As always click the photos to see them larger

One Response to “Back yard bird blind”

  1. Cool blind Rick. I’m finding that as it warms up a bit, I can sit on my back steps and the birds come to the feeder. I’m beginning to think it is the sun glinting off the camera lens that scares them off sometimes.

Leave a Reply

