Planning a trip

I remember way back when(Pre Bill Gates) when planning a trip involved no more that getting out the state highway maps. Then came the Road Atlas and all was fine. Now, the wealth of info is staggering.

I have been planning photography road trips for awhile now, taking advantage of back roads to maximize photo opportunities. Now I am planning a big trip to the Smoky Mountains and surrounding areas.

The first thing I use is Google maps using the options to avoid major highways. Then I used the individual attractions websites. Such as The Cherohala skyway. The Nantahala national forest , Pisgah national forest. By typing in an area you can search for any information. I love scenic drives and use this site a lot. American byways. I also searched for waterfalls since I knew the area was covered in them , Waterfalls

Do your research, plan your route, be flexible. I even checked the times for the Fall color. If you are going on a trip, have a computer and internet there is no reason not to be informed

Other links.

National park service

Yahoo maps

Mapquest

Motorcycle roads

American road magazine

North Carolina and surrounding states waterfalls

Leave a Reply

