More research

I have been asked why and on what I based my timing for the Blue ridge trip. I am trying to time the fall leaf color to our trip.

I have been monitoring two sites. The first gives reports for the Northeast, Mid west and Southeast. The fall foliage network. The second is put out by Appalachian State University in Boone, NC and is specific to the blue ridge mountains. Weekly fall color report

Another technology trick I use is the web cams in the Great Smoky mountains national park. The first is from Purchase Knob on the east end of the park looking NE. This is the higher elevation and you can see some color starting.. The second is from Look Rock located on the west end looking east across the park. You can see this end does not have any significant color. I will continue to monitor and see if we must delay our departure.

Leave a Reply

