Tech Tuesday: Invaluable hardware

On my recent camping trip I used two pieces of hardware that I would have been hard pressed to do without.

The first was a Western Digital my passport 320 GB portable hard drive. The price of these has really come down. I got mine at Wal Mart for $59. Using it and my netbook running Lightroom 3.2 I was able to download and backup my photos, every day. This gave me great piece of mind. I took 757 photos in 8 days. It is small, compact and easy to use. It is USB powered so it runs off the computer without external power.

The other piece was also from Wal Mart. It was a Powerline 200 watt 12VDC to 110 VAC inverter. It simply plugged into the cigarette lighter socket and provided enough power to run a laptop, charge camera and cell phones and even run a small flourescent light. Not having electricity, every night, this also was invaluable.

Face it we live in an electronic age, even when camping. We are dependent on our electronic gadgets. These two devices will make life easier

Leave a Reply

