What is the best camera for me?

How many of you have been asked this question or have asked it yourself?

As the local resident “expert” I an asked this question on a daily basis.

Now, before any of you think I am tooting my own horn remember I live in a town with a population of 50 in a very rural  area with not many photographers. As to answering the question I always tell them “The one you have with you when you need it” This tongue and cheek answer is also quite true. A $5,000 camera does you no good if it is not with you when a photo opportunity presents itself.

Case in point, yesterday evening the clouds to the east were showing an alpen glow that we don’t get often. If i had went inside, got the camera, changed lenses and  come back outside the moment would have been gone. I used my Palm Centro phone with it’s 1.3 megapixel camera to at least record the moment.However it does give me a record of the moment. I don’t claim these are very good photos and even for a cell phone they are not up to I Phone standards.I also need to clarify what I put in my last blog, about my phone. I should have said, a “new to me phone.” I am not anti technology I am just anti upgrading just to keep up with the latest and greatest. If it still works and serves the purpose why throw something away just for the newest whiz bang gadget. I drive a 1995 Mazda, use and old Canon 20D and used lenses. My cell phone is a 3 year old Palm. I still use knives and guns that are at least 20 years old. I have a zippo lighter that I bought in 1976. OK OK enough of the ranting and rambling.The next time someone wants to know what camera is best you know the answer

Leave a Reply

