Nik Filters HDR Efex Pro

I have used Photomatix pro, since it came out, for all my HDR processing. However, since Nike filters came out with HDR Efex Pro I thought I would give it a chance. I have used and liked Nik filters since I started using Photoshop 10 years ago. I especially like the newer versions interface and intuitive layout. I downloaded the free trial and set to work. I run Vista home basic with 2 GB’s of ram. This seems to be the minimum for HDR Efex. I did notice it took longer to load, from Lightroom. Yes, it automatically becomes a plug in for Photoshop and Lightroom.I exported from LightroomOnce the images loaded and were processed the interface opened. There are a myriad of user friendly presets already installed. Chances are one of them will be just what you wanted. I chose Realistic strong.

You can make tweaks with the adjustment sliders. The whole process is quite easy to grasp.
You can hide the preset panel to get a larger previewThere is a histogram also. Once you are happy click save. On my computer it took a full 3 minutes for the photo to show up in Lightroom.

Would I spend the money to go from Photomatix 4 to this? No because I would need at least 4 GB’s of ram and I already have Photomatix. If I did not have an HDR program I would be all over this. As I said I love the Nik filters interface and technology. Is it the best for you? The only way I can answer is get the trial version and see. If you have a newer computer with lots of RAM it would be fantastic.

I do think I like the default image better than the Photomatix one, and in fairness it does seem easier to use and understand.

Leave a Reply

